On April 30th, the SculptureCenter and Tavern on the Green will be awarded the 25th Lucy G. Moses Preservation Awards.The Lucy G. Moses Preservation Awards are the New York Landmarks Conservancy’s highest honors for outstanding preservation. The Conservancy has been a leader in preserving, restoring, and reusing New York City’s wonderful architectural legacy for over 40 years.
For 25 years the Moses Awards have recognized individuals, organizations, architects, craftspeople and building owners for their extraordinary contributions to preserving our City. Support of the Henry and Lucy Moses Fund makes the Awards possible.
A new addition and connecting courtyard both enlarge and enhance the Long Island City home of SculptureCenter. The original 1908 building, once a trolley repair shop, had been lightly renovated when the Center moved in, in 2001. This project increased space by 50%, allowing for many missing museum functions, such as a reception area and bookshop, as well as addition gallery space. New Cor-Ten steel doors on the original gallery match the exterior of the addition and reinforce the building’s industrial heritage.
After the well-known Tavern on the Green restaurant closed, the City decided to re-invent the venue, removing decades of inappropriate additions, and restoring the picturesque building. The Victorian Gothic pavilions were designed by Jacob Wrey Mould in 1871 to serve as a sheepfold and caretaker’s cottage. Conversion to restaurant use and over 20,000 square feet in additions radically altered the space. This renovation reduced the size in half, peeling away ungainly additions to reveal beautiful red brick facades, restoring damaged polychrome slate roofs, and replacing oversized window openings with more historically appropriate fenestration. The Tavern is once again the jewel of Central Park.